Hasty

Proverbs 19:2

Desire without knowledge is not good, and whoever makes haste with his feet misses his way. 

Do you remember the Women’s March that happened across the country when President Trump was elected?

I remember something from the news coverage I saw that has a stuck with me to this day. I saw a video online of a news reporter interviewing one of the lady protestors. The reporter’s question: “What are YOU marching for today?”

Protestor’s response: Looks slightly confused and fumbles through saying “We do not like what’s going on!”

The reporter wisely ended the interview prematurely. Everyone could tell that here was a passsionate, convicted, angry woman who had no earthly idea why she was passionate, convicted, and angry. She didn’t know why she was marching. But all her friends were and her knee jerk reaction to Trump was one of dislike. Based on a few of the other interviews I saw, she was not the only one in this position.

Desire, passion, conviction, without knowledge is not good. I don’t think it’s a stretch to assume that most of the people who march against things these days don’t really know why.

But they have desire and hasty feet.

What saddens me is that they will miss their way. Some of these marches are for good and righteous things but hasty people ruin the impact they could have.

