Silent Fools

Proverbs 17:28

Even a fool, when he keeps silent, is considered wise; when he closes his lips, he is considered prudent.

It is a mathematical fact that those with nothing to say talk the most.

I’ve interacted with people or seen people on tv being interviewed and after they are done talking, they’ve said nothing. There’s been times when I have just finished talking with someone and cannot for the life of me remember what they said. This is not just because I have not been a great listener. Which is true but I’m getting better. Anyway, I’m sure you’ve had similar experiences.

So much talking seems to happen today. Social media has given anyone that wants a voice the opportunity to speak publicly. Some of these people should keep their mouths shut. I’m including myself in this category from time to time.

What people don’t always seem do realize is that pointless babble points out your foolishness. For the most part, humans aren’t stupid. We recognize when someone is saying or posting something that doesn’t make any reasonable sense but the poster thinks it’s genius.

Imagine the biggest fool in the world. A certain controversial subject comes up and for whatever reason the world’s greatest fool says nothing. One the other hand, imagine some who is only slightly foolish starts saying all kinds of illogical, idiotic things about a subject. Who seems to be the bigger fool?

Have you ever felt like people aren’t taking you seriously? Maybe what’s coming out of your mouth and/or keyboard is foolish.

Silencing both might help you out.

