I Pledge Allegiance

These days everyone seems to feel the need to align or identify themselves with something. For some it’s skin color. For others it’s gender. For others it’s nationality. For some it’s a political party, anti-political party, faith, non-faith, social status, economic status, or a host of other things. I am so grateful to be a born again Christian because I only have to worry about identifying myself with on thing: God and His Kingdom.

I am better at this than I used to be. I used to identify myself by my economic status more than anything. I’m still working through this but it’s not as big of a problem as it once was. Something that I have been recently realizing more and more is something that lots of other Christians need to realize too: My primary identity and allegiance is devoted to God and His kingdom.

I don’t pay that much attention to news and stuff, but even I can see how nutty people are. Christians included. The current political climate seems to be inspiring all kinds of people to identify themselves by a political party or lack thereof. What’s alarming to me is the number of Christians that are caught up in this. Too many of us are clearly finding our identity in a political party and their leaders. Too many of us inappropriately link our faith to our country. The USA is great but it’s NOT God’s chosen land. It’s time to remember where our primary allegiance is to be placed.

For our citizenship is in heaven, from which also we eagerly wait for a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ… Philippians 3:20

We as Christians are primarily citizens of God’s kingdom and thus our allegiance must be to Him first. Everything and everyone else is secondary. It’s incredibly difficult to live this out but God gave His Spirit to help us.

This Independence Day, by all means pledge your allegiance to the USA. It’s a great place to live and we have so much to be grateful for. But as John Piper said “We are citizens of heaven before we are earthly patriots.” If you’re a Christian, you’re a child of God before anything else.

