God is greater

Today I read:

You are from God, little children, and have overcome them; because greater is He who is in you than he who is in the world. 1 John 4:4

I cannot remember a time when somebody has referred to this verse and not said that it was talking about God being greater than the devil. Rereading it today I discovered something. There’s no mention of the devil anywhere near this passage. Obviously God is greater than the devil but that doesn’t seem to be John’s point. And I find that comforting and encouraging. Here’s why:

Pretty much everyone that believes in God gets that He’s stronger than the devil. That’s a no brainer. What I find myself most often forgetting is that God is also greater and stronger than anyone that could exist in the world. Not just a demon. But greater than people too. This understanding helps bring this verse closer to home and makes it way more encouraging to me.

God is greater than Obama or Trump. He’s greater than the woman who cuts you off in traffic driving like a lunatic. He’s greater than your boss. He’s greater than a corrupt government. He’s greater than Islamic terrorists beheading our fellow Christians. He’s greater than you. He’s greater than me.

He’s greater than anyone that could exist and He’s in me. And you if you know Him. I’m finding myself feeling more empowered, confident, happy, and relieved. With a God this powerful in us, we become very powerful too. He wants us to move in His power.

He’s got our back. And He wins. Always.

