No News is Good News

I’m traveling for work right now and one of the challenges of this for me is finding the discipline and motivation to exercise. But today I made it happen. When I got there, someone else was also working out and they had turned on Fox News to watch while on the elliptical.

This was the first time I’ve watched any “news” in I don’t know how long. That’s one of the huge benefits of not having TV (I do have Apple TV). The news was only on for literally five minutes. I know this because it was only on as long as my 5 minute warmup. All it took was five minutes for me to realize why everyone thinks there is so much division in the country. Every “story” was spun in such a way to highlight or create any kind of division possible. The news was basically this:

  • Trump said something I don’t like and now my feelings are hurt
  • Can you believe what that celebrity tweeted?
  • The world is ending because of ____________ (fill in the blank)

It was nutty. Do people really think this way? If so, no wonder so many people are scared and pessimistic. Someone who is very successful businessman and also a good ole country boy once told me something that I will always remember: “We just live out in the country and do our thing. We don’t have TV and watch the news, we make our own news.” This is from someone who took his passion and turned it into a multimillion dollar business. He’s got some wisdom to share.

I don’t watch the new or do much more than see whatever news pops up on my Instagram in-between cat pics. I’m very positive about the future and I don’t think it’s because of the whole ignorance is bliss thing. I think a big part of it is the fact that all this negative “news” isn’t being broadcast into my brain every day. If we’re being honest with ourselves, nearly all of the news stories out there play almost no role in our day to day lives. They’re completely irrelevant. Who cares that someone hurt LeBron’s feelings and Leonardo DiCaprio is mad at Trump? I know I don’t.

If you do pay attention to the news, try taking a break for a week. See what happens with your attitude. You might find that no news is good news. Make your own news. I bet it’s good.

Leave a Reply

