How to be happy in 2017

A couple of days ago I was listing to a TED podcast that was all about happiness. What really resonated with me was the relationship between gratitude and happiness.

I, like many others apparently, thought that the happier a person is the more grateful they become. It’s actually just the opposite. What is turning up now is that the people who express the most gratitude are the happiest and not the other way around. This is so much the case that it can be said that gratitude causes/creates happiness.

The more I thought about it the more it made sense to me. I don’t think that I have ever been truly grateful for something while simultaneously feeling sad or upset. It’s even hard for me to imagine a truly grateful person NOT feeling happy. Because of all this I am going to make 2017 a year of gratitude. Not just feeling grateful but actually expressing my gratitude because gratitude that’s not expressed is basically the same as ingratitude.

Here’s how I plan to do this:

  • I plan to send out 200 handwritten thank you notes this year. I want to hand deliver as many as possible because that seems like more fun and saves me money on stamps!
  • I plan to express gratitude more regularly to strangers. Like the waitress, cashier, and basically anyone who serves me.
  • I am going to continue to write positive Google reviews.

By doing these things, I think it’s safe to say that 2017 will be my happiest year yet!

