Let The Little Children Come

I love children. One of my favorite things to do when I’m out is to make faces at little kids and see how they react. Sometimes they look confused. Sometimes they make faces back. Sometimes they act bashful. All the time it’s cute and fun.

In college I worked at an elementary school for about 3 years and it was easily one of my favorite jobs of all time. Much better than flipping burgers. In and after college my wife and taught Sunday school for the 1st-2nd graders at our church. I think i did that for like 6 or 7 years. Being around kids and helping them learn while still being kids energizes me like almost nothing else can.

As I reflect on the past year and my love for little ones, I see some startling attitudes and events surrounding children in our society. I want to include a small disclaimer here. This isn’t going to be another post ranting about how sucky 2016 was. I don’t feel that way at all. Sure, crazy and terrible things happened, but they happen every year.

I hope that I’m wrong but what I’m observing is a general lack of concern for the smallest of us and I think that the following 3 events exemplify this.

  1. First up is the Harambe gorilla fiasco. I’m not going to rehash this. Crawl out from under your rock and Google it if you don’t know what this is. I see a general lack of concern for children display in several ways here.First of all, how is it physically possible for a child to end up in an animal’s enclosure? When I lived in San Diego we had zoo passes and were there all the time. I can remember maybe one or two enclosures in which a non-ninja human being could actually make their way into. It seems like much more concern could have gone into the design here. Secondly, how in the world did this kid’s parents not know that their kids was doing this? I know that kids are squirrelly but this seems ridiculous. I’m the oldest of 5 and my mom would take us out all over the place and never once did any of us get lost or seriously injured. Thirdly, is the obscene outpouring of grief for the gorilla. The amount of articles and posts demonizing the zoo and parents for the death of an animal seemed to vastly outnumber the number of people praising the zoo for quickly and safely rescuing the kid. I don’t want gorillas to be shot. Obviously. But I would personally shoot a gorilla if it meant protecting ANY child. Why is that so many people seem to have it backwards?
  2. Secondly is the intensified spotlight on abortion due to the election. This is worst thing that happens each and every year. Abortion kills babies. That’s it and that’s all. Being “pro-choice” is being pro baby killing. Let’s continue with the zoo theme. Say I’m the head zoo keeper for the pandas at the San Diego Zoo. There’s a female panda who is pregnant. However, she does not seem to be super enthused about it. She’s very young and doesn’t really know what she’s in for. She’s not in any danger. She’s not in any pain. It just doesn’t feel  like the best time to have a baby. I decide to terminate the panda pregnancy kind just because. Can you imagine the outrage that would ensue? I would have to run for the hills just to avoid being terminated myself. I would probably be criminally (and rightfully so) charged. All of this over an animal. Every year millions of children are killed for many of the same reasons. Millions. There’s never any criminal charges. Very little uproar. In fact, we now praise and revere women who have abortions and are ok with it. How is this caring for children? I’ll help you with the tough ones: IT’S NOT. It’s literally the exact opposite. What’s sad is that killing children isn’t even a recent thing. It happened thousands of years ago in the form of child sacrifice to the Canaanite deity Molech. Guess what? God really doesn’t like it when children are killed (see Lev  20:1-5) . In fact, He abominates it (2 Kings 16:3). That’s a King James Version word that means to hate, loathe, or detest. We aren’t told many things that God hates but this is one of them. And that’s terrifying. 2017 is the year to love life and stand against this mass murder of children
  3. Finally, is the transgender kid on the cover of National Geographic. This is just plain child abuse pure and simple. Apparently, this kid wanted to be a girl since he was like 3 years old. 3 years old. I’ve known three year olds that aren’t even potty trained. A three year old can’t even tie a pair of shoes. You’re trying to tell me that a kid can comprehend gender at three years old? Kids don’t know anything. That’s why parents are a thing. Good parents teach their kids how to properly live, behave, and act. If your three year old daughter wants to be a boy and thinks she’s a boy, you know what you do? You sit her down and tell her that she is confused. She’s a girl and that’s a wonderful thing. Guess what my little brother wanted to be when he was very young? A chicken. He acted like one and wanted to be one but he was simply a confused child. Encouraging a confused child in their confusion and parading them around like a mascot for the LGBTQ community is going to cause tremendous damage to this child. This is not caring. This is abuse.

Jesus earnestly desires children to know Him (MT 19:14). He LOVES kids. He takes anyone preventing them from coming to know him very seriously. In the end it would be better for someone to tie a big rock around their neck and jump in the ocean (MK 9:42) then it would be to mess with kids. We have to stand up for these tiny humans because they are so valuable and cannot stand up for themselves. This is no joke. It has to be an immovable vocal stance. The literal future is at stake.

