Five Books I Wish I Read Before College

Recently I was talking to my brother who is about to graduate from high school and he asked me if there were any books I thought he should read before he goes to college. I gave him one right off the bat and have taken some time on figuring out the others.

I decided to pick books that I wish I had read before I went to college. These books are all very practical and taught me things that I should have been taught before college. Most of this I wasn’t even taught in college. I narrowed it down to 5 books that I did not read before college. I’ve also include two honorable mentions.

By the way, it’s not too late. All of these books I’ve read in the past year and have made BIG impacts on my life and I’m 28. It’s NEVER too late. Read these:

  • The Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey
    • His methods work and are taught in many high schools around the country. They should be taught in EVERY high school and college.
  • The Entitlement Cure by Dr Townsend
    • This is THE book for this time. Everyone deals with entitlement and this book will help you identify it and overcome it in yourself and others.
  • Thou Shall Prosper by Rabbi Daniel Lapin
    • I’ve read several books on money and work and this is the best I’ve seen on the philosophy of both. This will change how you think about work and money for the better.
  • 13 Things Mentally Strong People Don’t Do by Amy Morin
    • Mental strength training is often neglected. Everyone will benefit from Morin’s book.
  • Linchpin by Seth Godin
    • This one might be my favorite on this list so far. Godin’s book inspires the reader become indispensable by doing meaningful work.

Honorable Mentions

  • Are You Fully Charged? by Tom Rath
    • This is one of the most practical books I’ve ever read. It’s also backed up with Rath’s characteristic research.
  • Amusing Ourselves To Death by Neil Postman
    • I try to read this book annually because it is so relevant. I actually read this one before college and I’m glad I did. Probably the best book on the effects of media ever written.

 

