You’ve done it before

Lately I have been trying to think of new and creative ideas for all kinds of things. The main thing I’ve realized is that this is hard! I haven’t really come up with anything groundbreaking or even good but I have realized something else along the way:

I’ve found that although I haven’t come up with anything great yet, I am at least training myself to look for greatness.

Think about this in terms of working out. Maybe you can only do 8 pushups. That’s not great but it’s something. Now what if tomorrow and the next day you did 9 pushups. Then the next day 10. Then 11. And so on adding one more everyday or so. In a matter of weeks you will be able to do dozens more than when you started.

I’m trying to think of my creativity as a muscle and right now it’s not super great yet. The keyword is “yet.” But I know that if I can keep working it a little bit more at a time I will be able to confidently assert that I am a creative person. I’ve increased my physical capabilities over the years with the same formula so I know that I can do it.

One phrase that has been so helpful to me in my self talk over the past few weeks is this:

You’ve done it before, you can do it again. 

This is so helpful because  I’ve been creative in the past so I know that I can do it again. Try to think of areas you might be struggling though now. Then come up with some similar situations in the past where you were successful. Now you know that you can deal with the current situation because you’ve done it before.

This kind of thinking has been helping me out alot.

 

 

