Long Days And Short Years

I’m not entirely sure who said it first but here is the quote that sums up 2016 for me:

The days are long but the years are short. 

Does anyone else feel like this? Here’s how the year went for my wife and I:

Yay! It’s a new year and it’s gonna be great(in January and February) … wait, what, it’s Thanksgiving already? Why tho? And now it’s Christmas? It seems like that middle hunk of the year didn’t even happen. It’s kinda scary. Most of an entire year just flew by and I didn’t even realize it.

On the other hand there seemed to be some really long days. The kinda days where you think it’s about time to finish working and you’ve only be at it for like two hours. Or more positively, those days where you got so much done that you’re exhausted in the best way.

I don’t want to take time for granted. I know that when I do that, long days turn into short years and I feel like I missed out. I’m trying to find more ways to commemorate each day to remind myself that this really is a day that the Lord has made. If He made today, it must be important. This blog is one way I’m trying to do that. Writing out some of my thoughts daily is clarifying and helpful. I’ve also started carrying around a little notebook to jot down thoughts, ideas, questions, names, addresses, anything really. It’s neat to be able to look back at a specific date and see a little list of things I need to get at the store or whatever.

One thing that I’m going to make a goal for 2017 is to express more gratitude in tangible ways. I have a feeling that will help.

While it seems like the days are long, I definitely realize that long days still fly by. It’s helpful and encouraging to find the meaning in each day.

 

