Rules

If I’m being honest, I love rules. Rules define things. Rules tell me what to do. Rules tell me what not do. Rules are specific. I like that. With lots of rules, I don’t have to think. I like that too, sometimes. Ok lots of the time. It would be ALL the time if it wasn’t for my favorite rule of all. If you’ve lived in the western world for any length of time you already know this one, most refer to it as the Golden Rule:

Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

It’s been said in other ways too:

Put yourself in her shoes for a minute.

Be kind to your future self by being treating others fairly.

What goes around comes around.

My favorite (so far) is how Zig Ziglar put it:

You can have everything in life you want if you’ll just help enough other people get what they want.

Again,

Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

This rule doesn’t clearly define what I’m to do. This rule doesn’t clearly define what I’m not to do. This rule is not very specific. By most people’s modern definitions of “rules” this would not technically be a that good of a rule. But it is. It’s the Golden Rule. Its enduring greatness and relevance lies in the fact that it requires me and everyone to think. Not just to think about a concept, another rule, or even myself. It requires me to think about others and how I relate to them. In as many situations as I can, I MUST think about how I would want to be treated by this person in front of me and then treat them that way. That leads to empathy. The best rules always do. 

